Back to Graphical Site
< Previous Image Now viewing image 429 of 2011. Next Image >

South Crofty Mine, near Camborne, Cornwall

move to this image
move to this image
move to this image
South Crofty Mine, near Camborne, Cornwall move to this image
move to this image
move to this image
 
© Crown copyright.NMR
Reference Number: AA007891
Comment on this image...
Comment on image
 
Caption: South Crofty Mine was worked from 1854 until 1896, when it closed due to the low price of tin. It reopened in 1900 and new shafts were sunk in 1903 and 1907. On the 7 March 1998 it finally closed, resulting in the laying-off of hundreds of miners.
Photographer: J O Davies Date Taken: February 1998
Collection: NMR
Archive Holder: English Heritage NMR
< Previous Image   Next Image >
Terms and Conditions  | Privacy Policy  | © Historic England 2014 - All rights reserved.